M50B30

Need help getting started with DTS?
Jakee36

M50B30

Post by Jakee36 »

I am working on an m50 stroker build and have yet to even think about tuning. I have no experience tuning and this software looks very appealing. Basically I want to know if my 413 silver label DME will work and how easy it will be to use a bosch 806 MAF?
Meilleur102

Re: M50B30

Post by Meilleur102 »

Jakee36 wrote:I am working on an m50 stroker build and have yet to even think about tuning. I have no experience tuning and this software looks very appealing. Basically I want to know if my 413 silver label DME will work and how easy it will be to use a bosch 806 MAF?
Hi Jakee!
For your first question yes the 413 silver label will work.
The 413 red label and silver are practically the same DME.

The major difference is the EWS (anti thieve system)

I have a confirmation from Jeff that he can provide a EWS delete (if your swapping in another car or in a E30)

For the MAF ill let Jeff anwsers this question.
I'ts still over my knowledge.
Renovelo
Site Admin

Post by Renovelo »

Hey Jake,

Yes, our software will work with the silver label 413. Is this the original DME for your car or will you need an EWS delete? We can provide this if necessary.

When tuning for an engine with a different displacement, you'll have to massage the fuel and timing tables a good bit. It would probably be best to start with the stock tune from the silver label 413 for the S50B30 (413_8715 combination). We would pull a few degrees of timing from the main spark maps just to be safe and tune from there.

Out of curiosity, why the 806 MAF and not the one from the 540i? Of course our software will allow you to tune for any MAF that outputs 0-5V, but it would be easier to start with a MAF with a known transfer function. Otherwise, it will take a little bit of time on the dyno to create a MAF transfer function from scratch.